Cure for Christmas Blahs…(Book Review)

6 Dec

I was excited to read this book because it promised to explore whether Christmas can still change the world. For me, Christmases have begun to blur together year as I’ve grown older, and I’ve felt like I must be missing something. Advent Conspiracy is a short but thought provoking read which inspired me with stories of people who have found ways to make Christmas about meaningful giving. Instead of spending time with wish lists, we can make a tangible difference in the quality of life of people around the world. I hope to share this book’s principles with my family members this Christmas so we can celebrate with more joy and more compassion for others. The book has also challenged me to think carefully about how we teach Colin about Christmas so that he will grow up with a heart for others and not a desire for accumulating more things.

Heather

One Response to “Cure for Christmas Blahs…(Book Review)”

  1. Amanda McCaleb December 22, 2009 at 2:15 am #

    Haven’t been on your blog in so long and I am so with you on this topic. I wish I had handled Christmas differently. Now reading Ann Voskamp’s writing, I really love the focus on what does Jesus want for Christmas and a smaller meaningful gift for the children for New Year’s instead. I think you should go for the compassion and focus on Christ. I am praying that God will help my family change our focus on Christmas.

    The problem with stuff is that we never get enough and it does not satisfy. I see it every day in myself and my kids. Like Solomon said, the eye is never satisfied with seeing, etc.

Leave a Reply

