Fall with Colin

10 Oct

Fall is usually my favorite time of year…I love the cooling weather and the leaves beginning to change.  I love putting away shorts and getting out long sleeves and sweaters.  I enjoy tasting recipes that just seem to taste better in fall–like pumpkin bread, pumpkin lattes (Alan just made one for me!), pecans, and apple crisp.

Fall last year, however, was not my favorite time of year.  We were waiting anxiously for our court petition and we knew that if we didn’t get it in October we wouldn’t likely be able to bring home Colin before the slow-down of the Russian New Year. 

What a blessing to have Colin with us this fall!  Fall is not very long in Russia and Colin’s life was limited to a small yard behind the baby home.  We are excited to watch Colin enjoy his first long fall here in Indiana.  Tonight on the way to church Colin IMG_2913_croppedbegan to ooh and ah over the first signs of the bright colors of autumn leaves!  

Here he is in his Halloween pajamas.  He has no clue what Halloween is.

We aren’t going to make a big deal out of Halloween.  We will pick out a pumpkin or two soon and carve them.  We have tried to ask Colin what he’d like to dress like…The first time we asked him this (not sure whether he really understands this question when we ask it), Colin said, “Clock.”  Hmmmm…At another time, we asked him if he still wanted to dress like a clock and he denied it….So we don’t really know what he is going to be dressed like for Halloween.

We probably will let him trade his candy for some other treats.  If people handed out marshmallows instead of candy, Colin wouldn’t be open to trading.  He absolutely loves marshmallows and will say every day or so, “I want marshmallow.”  He is very motivated by food to speak in sentences. 🙂 Besides marshmallows, he loves every vegetable imaginable.   This week he devoured raw cucumbers, grape tomatoes, broccoli, kale chips (I made from scratch), and carrots.  He has even been known to try to eat beans and potatoes raw.  One afternoon, he actually begged for the green peppers I was chopping rather than eating the rest of his apple slices. 

Colin enjoys helping Mama bake…Unfortunately every photo of him helping me is awful of IMG_2924_cropped his Mama so I’ve had to edit me out to spare our readers! 

I try to make sure that we attempt to do art at least once a week.  Here Colin is “painting” with a magic bag.  He loves painting and would do it every day if I were a braver Mama! IMG_2935

 

 

 

 

 

 

Colin also enjoys practicing cutting with his scissors.  This week he has been less patient with my attempts to guide his hand.  “No, Mama,” he insisted as he tried to cut by himself.

IMG_2944

Colin is doing well with answering more questions and is talking in more sentences.  We are proud of how his vocabulary continues to grow, too.

He enjoys having company.  He loves to greet our Tuesday night small group members when they come to the door.  He is always pleasant and friendly with people he meets as well as people he knows. IMG_2954

We are going to try to work on potty training more than we have in the past.  Colin is somewhat receptive and has picked out his first pair of cloth training pants (we’ve got to check the sizing before we order more) and just wait until you see the print he chose! 

4 Responses to “Fall with Colin”

  1. Nicole October 11, 2009 at 11:20 am #

    What a great entry! I love the fall also and sure yours is so much more beautiful than ours here in Cali:) Colin is getting soo big. He is too cute. I left a comment on the Donald Miller entry but saw that it was not there…don’t know what happened. I am so sorry for your families loss. You have been close in my prayers. I look forward to reading the book you recommended. I read Blue Like Jazz and really enjoyed it and think Miller has such a gift for writing.

  2. Amy Y October 13, 2009 at 12:31 am #

    Colin is so cute! You inspired me to try painting with Anna, so far we only stick with play-doh and glue sticks. Are you guys in Tennessee? We just found out we are moving to the Nashville area in December, any chance we’ll be neighbors?

  3. Kim October 21, 2009 at 1:07 am #

    I love those last two photos of Colin; oh such sweetness! Fall is my favorite time of the year. Last fall was an anxious time for us too. We have soooo much to be thankful for this year. I bet Indiana is really beautiful in the Fall.

  4. Kara October 25, 2009 at 11:03 pm #

    !!! My owen had those same cute jammies! Oh that brought back memories. I just loved him in those! =) What is painting with a magic bag?

Leave a Reply

