Updates

22 Jul

 

IMG_2618 Colin weighed 25.7 lbs about two weeks ago when he went to the doctor (He weighed 23.5 lbs when he was in the doctor’s office at the end of April).  Yay!!!  We are excited that he has grown!   He did not have a fun time getting his ears checked or getting two vaccinations…The doctor wanted to do more than that but Mama doesn’t like to torture Colin with more than two shots at a time.

Alan and I continue to seek God’s will regarding adopting again.  The Bible study I am doing this summer is Esther: It’s Tough Being a Woman by Beth Moore.  Yesterday, the session really hit home with Beth teaching us how to “turn it around” by turning my feeling of being “responsible for the “how.””  Beth said, “Trust believe BEFORE the “how” is known.”    So instead of fretting over “how” God will provide for us if He calls us to adopt again, I should trust that the Lord knows HOW!  She suggested that we meditate on these Scriptures: “The Lord knows how to rescue the godly from trials and to keep the unrighteous under punishment until the day of judgment”  2 Peter 2:9, HCSB and “For He knows how we are formed, he remembers that we are dust.” (Psalm 103:14, NIV). 

I also loved how Beth said that “If we think we are going to fret our way to victory, it is never going to happen!”  Worry is something that I struggle with in my Christian walk.  I have to turn my worries over to God daily and actively trust Him for the “hows” of my life.

Beth also talked about the “passion of patience” (term from Revelations 1:9)  She explained that “longing is inherent in the wait.  The Lord is longing and waiting, too.”  What a wonderful concept to think about:  The Lord is longing and waiting, too!  With my human eyes, I tend to think more on how I have to wait on the Lord.  Scriptures to “turn it around” when we are struggling with balancing “passion with patience” include:  “Yet the Lord longs to be gracious to you; He rises to show you compassion.  For the Lord is a God of justice.  Blessed are all who wait for Him.” (Isaiah 30:18, NIV).

As we wait on the Lord to reveal His plans for our family, I am trusting that God will ultimately answer the question of “how” we will be able to adopt another child.  Will He totally reveal how He is going to financially provide for the costs of adoption BEFORE we begin the paperwork stage again?  I believe God could but I will keep trusting in God even if He chooses not to reveal the “how” before we step out in faith and begin the process of adopting another child.  That first step of faith with Colin’s adoption was one of many leaps we made during our journey to bring home our son.  We certainly had no clue how God was going to provide for us but I am here today to say again that God DID provide in amazing ways and to His glory. 

Thanks for stopping by,

Heather

4 Responses to “Updates”

  1. Amanda McCaleb July 22, 2009 at 5:04 pm #

    LOve it! He’s all about character; teaching you to trust and helping you to grow! And you have a living daily reminder of His miraculous provision! Do it again Lord! Do it again!

  2. Julie E July 22, 2009 at 6:04 pm #

    I am doing the same Bible study this summer and it has been awesome! Just what I need when I need it. Praying you will know God’s direction concerning future adoptions.

  3. Nicole July 31, 2009 at 12:32 pm #

    I did the Esther Bible study and it was amazing! The Lord spoke to me in so many ways during the adoption:) Enjoy! And yeah for Colin growing!

  4. Another Heather August 1, 2009 at 7:58 pm #

    You don’t know me, but I found your web site via other adoption blogs. My husband & I have only been back for two months with our little boy, but I felt lead to comment. Our big decisions are so hard, especially financial ones. I am not going to be much help, but PRAY. God will answer you. Your heart probably knows the answer already. He will lead you in the right direction.

    *Just a note: We did not have to tell our agency anything about the amount of money we had saved. There was no minimum requirement, and we had a wonderful agency.

    Good luck with whatever your decision is.

Leave a Reply

