One Year Ago in Russia…

9 Jul

The city where our son was born is 12 hours ahead of the Eastern time zone. It was about 1 p.m. on July 10th (and 1 a.m. here in Indiana) 1 year ago that we met our sweet Colin for the first time.  At the time, our hearts were guarded and we were trying so hard to ask questions and take notes.  In walked a caregiver with Colin in her arms and before too long, this precious child was in my arms.  Thinking back on that day, I know God was in that room with us, and He had his arms around us ministering to us during that visit and the remainder of our time in Russia.  God was there to calm our fears and confirm that Colin was indeed the son He had intended for us.  I’m crying as I write this because I am still blown away by how wonderfully God brought us together with our son and how He continues to knit our hearts together as a family.

Here are some photos from that first visit 1 year ago when Colin was just 14 months old.  I couldn’t share them on the blog this time last year so I am relishing the opportunity to share them today.  Colin IMG_0764_resizedwas a little unsure what to make of us and our attempts to speak Russian to him and interest him in toys and books, but by the end of that first visit he had warmed up to Mama and was even willing to let Papa hold him for a short time.  Papa pushed it when he nibbled one of his ears in our first family photo session…Oddly enough, Colin now plays with Papa’s ears all the time and tugs on his own ear’s for comfort. (Interestingly, I played with my parents’ ears IMG_0773when I was little, too.)

Thanks for stopping by,

Heather

 

 

 

 

IMG_0772_editedbrightness

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_0769_small

2 Responses to “One Year Ago in Russia…”

  1. Hannah July 10, 2009 at 7:14 am #

    Great pictures….Time sure flies by doesn’t it? We still need to get the kids together. Dmitry has me running like crazy this summer!

  2. Julie E July 10, 2009 at 9:31 am #

    I was just thinking of you guys yesterday. A year has flown by! I love the new pictures on the top of your blog! So happy you are together as a family.

Leave a Reply

