Seeing Your Smiling Face…

25 Jun

Today, I can’t help but remember a year ago, June 25th, when we received a phone call. Alan and I both happened to be at home that afternoon.  We were preparing to travel to TN to visit my family the next day.  We received the phone call from our adoption agency sharing news of our referral….We felt this mixture of hope, joy, and uncertainty.  Had we been matched with the little boy who would be forever our son?  We guarded our hearts as we discussed the medicals with our coordinator and then as we opened the photos she’d emailed us.  Oh my goodness!  The first thing we saw were big blue eyes as we scrolled down the email…and we saw a precious smiling face and strawberry blond looking hair.  We recognized such warmth and personality in those referral photos that it startled us. 

When we got off the phone we were busy trying to schedule our phone conferences with two different international adoption doctors and forwarding the medicals and photos to their offices.  The earliest we could talk to either of them was a couple of days away while at my parents’ house.  We couldn’t talk to the other doctor until after we were back from TN.   We decided to share the news with only our parents because we wanted to guard our hearts before talking to the adoption doctors.  I remember praying so much and crying and sitting in the swing at my parents’ house just talking to Jesus. 

That Sunday at the church where I grew up, one of the amazing God moments of our journey to becoming Colin’s parents happened.  The pastor asked if he could bring us up front and have the deacons pray with us during the congregation’s prayer time.  I remember being reassured once again that the God I serve and worship is so precious to me.  God loves Alan and me more than we can ever deserve.  There He was ministering to us through prompting Brother Artie to pray with us…Brother Artie not knowing that we were on the brink of a big leap of faith…deciding whether we were going to meet a baby boy far away in Siberia…And God gave us peace that weekend that we needed to get on that plan and meet the boy behind the photographs…the boy behind all the Russian medical jargon that muddled my brain…

Now as I sit here writing this, I am crying tears of joy and amazement at the wonder of how God led us to our Colin.  I am thinking of how I have never witnessed anything as incredible as the transformation of Colin into our family boy–our son.  God bestowed on me the honor of being Colin’s Mama and I am overwhelmed with the responsibilities and joys of raising Colin.  Each day brings laughter, growth, and sometimes tears as God shapes me into the wife and mama He has intended me to be since before I was even born…We love our baby boy and are so blessed to see his smiling face each day!

Note:  The referral photos of Colin seem to have been taken on his first birthday, April 14, 2008.  We first met him almost 3 months later when he was just about to turn 15 months old.  The other photo we found of Colin before we met him on trip one is from the Russian Database, a web site intended to interest Russian families in adoption.

zpfile000 Our favorite referral photo (to the left)

 

The database photo below (We think he was maybe 9 months old or so in the photo):

wv96

3 Responses to “Seeing Your Smiling Face…”

  1. Kris June 25, 2009 at 4:00 pm #

    Great year, right? We got our referral on the 24th of June, how interesting? I remember your baby’s picture from the database, I saved them all for memories for my boy.

  2. Kathy B June 25, 2009 at 10:29 pm #

    I cannot imagine our life without Colin! What a joy he is! My, how the Lord has worked and continues to work bringing his will to pass. How thankful I am of how submissive you and Alan were in following the Lord’s leadership and allowing Him to guide and use you. What an example of trust! Etched in my memory is the last time you, Alan and Colin visited us and little Colin held hands with us as we prayed. He was all smiles and so proud as he proclaimed the final amen, bringing our blessing to a close. I do the same, amen, and praise be to our Lord for reaching across the globe to bring our dear grandbaby to us. The Lord has wonderful plans for Colin and for you and Alan as Mama and Papa. I will never forget the first time we met Colin and the first time we saw you and Alan as Colin’s Mama and Papa. It seemed the most natural thing in the world to you both. It is natural to you both and it is ordained from the Lord. I rejoice at what great parents you are and what a precious, sweet little boy Colin Vova is.

  3. ShanonRentz June 26, 2009 at 2:10 pm #

    This just made me cry! You have such a beautiful little boy. I am so happy for you. I love your blog and all the information that you share. You are such a help and an inspiration to those of us that are in the process of adoption.
    God Bless!
    Shanon

Leave a Reply

