The Amazing Race: Team Colin & Mama

2 Jun

We survived our crazy Tuesday!  Thanks to all who prayed for us.  Our new washing machine (it just broke last week) arrived by 11:30 and then Colin and I picked up our post placement report from the local agency who wrote it.  There was much drama before we picked it up.  Without going into too much detail, I have received confirmation that I should trust my gut and not over-trust professionals, even when they are people trained and paid to perform a job.  It is appropriate for me to double check things even if I am afraid of being “scolded.”  As a result of a history of problems with our home study agency, we are now going to begin the look for another agency to do our next updates for Russia and our adoption agency has confirmed that this is fine for us to do. 

After we picked up the report today, Colin and I spent the next several hours traveling 2 hours to Indianapolis to get the post placement report apostilled and 2 hours back to the UPS store where I made 3 copies and over-nighted the whole sha-bang to our adoption agency, who’d been expecting it to arrive yesterday.  We barely made it back in time to send it out with the last shipment of the night from the UPS store. 

Colin was wonderful today–so patient and cooperative.  He enjoyed walking in downtown Indy and meeting many people in the government building. This was an answer to prayer because it helped me to remain calmer and focused as I attempted my almost-impossible task of dealing with the post-placement report.

Fortunately, we are not going to have to pay a fine despite the fact that it is one day late to our adoption agency.  I appreciate this so much since we don’t feel that we were responsible for the report being late.

I’m looking forward to a very unadventurous day tomorrow…

On a very happy note, today is my mother’s birthday so I’d like to send a happy birthday wish to my mother.  I’m so glad she has chocolate cake to enjoy tonight 🙂 Here Colin is rolling out biscuit dough with Grandma Bain during his May trip to Tennessee.

IMG_2327_cropped

4 Responses to “The Amazing Race: Team Colin & Mama”

  1. Julie, Wade & Alyssa June 3, 2009 at 10:03 am #

    We were praying for your p.p. paperwork to get done in time!!!
    I cannot believe that we have been home just over 6 months also!!!
    Colin looks sooooo cute!!!
    Love, Julie Word

  2. Sherri June 3, 2009 at 5:18 pm #

    So glad it all worked out and you were able to get it done, in the mail and all taken care of!!

    Sherri

  3. Nicole June 3, 2009 at 8:50 pm #

    whew- you sound like me last week! I am glad it all worked out and is done. It is such a great feeling.

  4. Michele June 4, 2009 at 10:31 am #

    Yay!

Leave a Reply

