A Major Milestone

2 Feb

Alan here.

Colin hugged me today. This is one of those things non-adoptive parents may not understand. Why wouldn’t your child hug you?

But the real question is: why would he? The caregivers in the orphanage don’t necessarily teach their charges how to hug, kiss or do many other forms of personalized touch we take for granted.

So, a month and a half after “Gotcha Day,” I got my first true hug from Colin after I came home from work.

It felt good.

8 Responses to “A Major Milestone”

  1. Jennifer February 2, 2009 at 11:20 pm #

    Congratulations! That is awesome news!

  2. LL February 3, 2009 at 6:51 am #

    I can just imagine how great that hug felt!

  3. Debbie Swingle February 3, 2009 at 10:44 am #

    I got my first Mama, I lu lu over the phone on my first day driving back to work after FMLA ran out. It is one of those amazing experiences that reduce you to tears and you never forget. He has been home almost a year now and I never grow tired of when he hugs or kisses or tells me he loves me. May you receive many more!!!

  4. Michelle February 3, 2009 at 10:46 am #

    That made me cry! I bet you can still feel that hug.

  5. Elena February 3, 2009 at 3:18 pm #

    It was very interesting to read how you got your son but actually I think it is even more interesiting to read about your life as a family.

  6. Shelly February 3, 2009 at 5:29 pm #

    Awesome!

  7. Carine February 3, 2009 at 8:04 pm #

    That is the best feeling!! Congrats- he seems to be coming along very well!

  8. Jamey February 5, 2009 at 3:28 pm #

    That even felt good from here! Now Groundhog Day really is special!

Leave a Reply

