A Different Road

2 Feb

I went back to school to become an elementary school teacher about 2001.  I graduated in 2005 with a Masters of Art in Teaching.  Since 2005, I’ve been looking for a full-time permanent teaching position.  Now, I am at the point where I’m not sure what God has in mind for me as a teacher. For the time being, Alan and I feel like I should resign from my position as a Title One teacher’s aide. I have told the school principal of this decision but I have also told her that I want to be kept in mind for any full-time or part-time teaching positions, if they open up. I know quite well that they may not open up or they may open up but I may not be hired. The school isn’t at liberty to promise me anything but I will feel honored to teach there some day if that is where God leads…

I’m okay with this different road I’m on right now…If God wants me to be a teacher in a different kind of setting (like a tutor), I’m okay with it….I know I am always going to be a teacher in my home…My son needs me to teach him so many things and model for him how to live authentically for God. And my sweet Colin needs my love and my time right now. He spent 20 months living without a mama and papa and is benefitting form having me at home with him at this time.

Beth Moore says, “If He doesn’t grant you what you ask in faith, it is never because He lacks the power.  I believe it’s because He wants to release an all-surpassing power and reveal an even greater glory through another answer.”  I have prayed since 2005 for a job but now I do believe, even if it is for the short term, God has provided “another answer.” God wants me to stay for the time being at home with Colin. I don’t know if it will be a couple more months that I will at home with Colin or 6 months or more, but I trust that God will put me in the place He wants me to serve Him.

Am I a little nervous about our finances? Yes and no….Yes, money is going to be tight, but God provided what we needed to bring Colin home and it was way beyond our financial means. If God can work in that to meet our needs, I know He will take care of us now and He will continue to lead me down this different road in a way that brings Him glory.

Thanks for stopping by,
Heather

One Response to “A Different Road”

  1. Amanda McCaleb February 5, 2009 at 1:14 pm #

    Oh, Heather, I am so glad to hear it! Of course your little boy will be so blessed to have you home with him! He couldn’t ask for a better job for you! I’ll be praying as you step out in faith on this! I don’t believe you’ll ever regret it for a minute.

Leave a Reply

