Horrible Awful No Good Very Bad Day?

23 Dec

Today in Moscow the temperature felt more like where our son was born–Siberia!  We decided to take a quick walk while our apartment was cleaned but our judgment wasn’t the greatest.  We wanted to see if we could find some more sensitive skin detergent that was safe to use on Colin’s clothing.  It ended up a longer walk because my right foot decided it did not like my boots.  The boots I once celebrated as wonderful, comfortable, warm boots suddenly made my right foot feel like I had some weird sports injury.  We suspect that the boots don’t have enough support for me to carry a toddler who is about 21 or more pounds.  He is also bad to lean to the right side in his carrier.  Also, my acid reflux and my tummy got woogy on the trip.  When we finally got to the grocery, I still felt kind of weird so Alan got to try out the baby carrier on the return trip.  He needed to try it anyway and Colin has been reluctant to this point to have his Papa wear him.  Uhhhh he continues to not like his Papa to wear him but Mama was better able to survive the trip back to our apartment.

We had to stop at Kentucky Fried Chicken because it was lunch time and nearby.  Colin pretty much cried the whole way back to the apartment after temporarily being happy at the restaurant.  Once we were back in the lobby, I felt nauseous which meant Papa had to continue to manage Colin so I could rush to the bathroom to see if I needed to….okay you know what I’m leaving out here….but I didn’t.  After another Sprite and a shower, I’m feeling a little better.  Please pray for the health of each of us as we near our departure date (12/24) for the U.S.

Any one know how to find an optician in Russia?  One of Heather’s arms on her glasses has come off and we have no way to fix it.  We have contacted our facilitator but have not heard back from him and we don’t recall seeing anything that remotely looked like an optician’s shop here in Moscow.

I guess it sounds likes we are falling apart today!  Hopefully, this is just a “horrible, awful, no good, very bad day” and the rest of the night (and the rest of our days here) will go smoothly.  We should receive our Russian Consulate registration tomorrow so we can leave on Wednesday.  We are praying that weather conditions in the U.S. have improved and/or will stay clear so that there are no flight delays.

We are so excited to soon be home for Christmas, even if it is a very quiet Christmas at home.  We know it will still be a precious time because we finally have our gift from God with us, Colin.

7 Responses to “Horrible Awful No Good Very Bad Day?”

  1. Kristi Werre December 23, 2008 at 2:30 am #

    Oh, I’m sorry you’ve been having a bad day! I sure hope tomorrow is better and you get your glasses fixed, too. 🙂

    Hey – you were probably really close to my house if you were in Siberia (I’m in Alaska)…you should have popped on over.

    I’ll be praying for Colin’s health, and safe travel back to the U.S. Merry Christmas!

    Kristi

  2. Jamey Brandt December 23, 2008 at 9:54 am #

    For the glasses…try a jeweler if you can find one of those. Will you be able to share your flight information with us?

  3. Jodi December 23, 2008 at 10:00 am #

    I hope all gets better soon and that you have a relatively uneventful trip home. Best wishes for a Merry Christmas with Colin.
    Jodi

  4. Marcia December 23, 2008 at 10:32 am #

    Hey! Wish we lived closer and had a key to your house! Know that, if I could, I would clean and decorate and stock the fridge for your return… Our family lives too far apart!

    Looking forward to your safe and uneventful return!

  5. Shelly December 23, 2008 at 11:00 am #

    Hang in there…you’re almost home!

  6. Amanda December 23, 2008 at 12:54 pm #

    Just keep saying “We are almost home, we are almost home, we are almost home!” You ARE almost home. Everything else between now and then are only bumps on the road to home. You have been gone way too long living in a completely different culture. You have done well and will make it home! With a sweet little gift in hand. The final part of your journey may be greuling, but the end is in sight! When we came home with our girls I remember very clearly sitting in the food court of the Atlanta airport (with my daughter finally sleeping on my lap after only a short 45 minute nap on the 11 1/2 hour flight) crying thankful tears that we were almost home. Our trip wasn’t near as long as yours and yet it was still an incredibly hard trip. Hang in there, you are almost home! And you will be covered in prayer for the long trip home.
    Amanda
    (We adopted our twin girls through your same agency a little over two years ago. And don’t forget to join the home from Russia group when you get home!)

  7. Jennifer December 23, 2008 at 2:29 pm #

    I hope you guys get good sleep today/tonight for your big trip in only a few short hours. Hang in there because the end is in sight.

    May Colin sleep peacefully tonight!

Leave a Reply

