Whispers of Prayers…

21 Nov

We received our visas/passports today!  Now if we can only get this house cleaned and everything packed for our trip.  Our to-do list includes me getting my third hepatitis vaccination on Monday and making an appointment for Colin to see an international adoption doctor in January.  Alan just shared that he woke up at 3 a.m. thinking about the visas and worrying that they wouldn’t come in time.  He stayed a little later at home this morning hoping the UPS delivery person would bring the visas…Funny thing is they did.  I had no idea until dinner tonight that he was even worried about the visas; I honestly wasn’t worried about them.  On trip one, we received them 1-2 days max before our trip.  This time we were able to mail them off much earlier so I figured they should be back in time.

Right now, I’m working on an album for court.  We didn’t really know that we needed to do another album to take in our hands to our court hearing.  Ours will have some of the same photos as our photo album we submitted with our court documents.  It will also include some photos of Colin’s finished bedroom.

Today was my last day at school for this calendar year.  I don’t know what God has in store for me career-wise.  After waiting for a permanent teaching job since 2005, I’ve had to accept that I couldn’t pursue the current opening at school.  Hopefully, the next time there is a teaching opening the timing will be better…I had a teacher pray over me before I left the classroom and it was a wonderful thing to hear her breathe a quiet prayer at my ear as she hugged me.  Many have encouraged me and joined me in my excitement at finally returning to Russia.  I feel blessed by the folks who have shared that they are praying for Alan and me as we travel to Russia and have our court hearing.

Today, a friend I met through our adoption agency and have yet to meet in person sent me the most beautiful prayer through an email.  She and her husband are the parents of a child from the same region of Russia as where Colin is.  Among the many things she said in her prayer was that Colin would quickly begin the process of bonding with us.  Another friend who is also an adoptive parent is praying that Colin’s spirit is calmed as soon as we appear, that he will recognize us as his mama and papa, and that all will go smoothly and quickly with our process in Russia.  May I ask that you who are reading this posting today say a prayer or two in agreement with these dear women who have sent prayers to us over the miles today?

Thanks for stopping by,

Heather

6 Responses to “Whispers of Prayers…”

  1. Candy November 21, 2008 at 10:14 pm #

    Heather- I pray that you will have safe travels, you will be prepared for the judge’s questions, Colin will attach to you quickly. I look forward to seeing pictures of your family!

  2. Kim Abraham November 22, 2008 at 12:46 am #

    Such sweet prayers, I’ll join in too! Safe Travels!

  3. Jackie November 22, 2008 at 10:30 pm #

    Heather- I will join them in prayer too! I’m so excited to read this!

  4. Kristi Werre November 24, 2008 at 3:55 am #

    It’s getting so close, I bet you are going crazy with excitement! I’ll be praying for you, your hubby, and Colin. Can’t wait to see those pics!!! BTW – couldn’t post a comment on your other blog, not sure if I’m doing something wrong or not, but wanted to say thanks for the invite!!! 🙂

  5. Teresa November 24, 2008 at 7:49 am #

    Hi Heather, You guys must be just so excited! I am saying a prayer that everything goes smoothly with court and everything. Have a safe and fun trip! I can’t wait to follow your adventure to finally bring your son home.
    Warmest wishes…Teresa

  6. Stephanie November 24, 2008 at 1:54 pm #

    Heather, I know that everything will go according to God’s plan. Have faith – put your heart and hands in his, and he will guide you.

    I hope that we get to see you before we leave. Right now we are scheduled to fly out of Kras on Dec 3rd. Let’s try and make plans to meet!

    Good luck & God’s Speed,
    Stephanie

    http://www.thesmiths441.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

