Time to Celebrate One Mountain Moved…

28 Oct

Today, October 28th, we finally received our Petition to Court.  It is amazing to look at this 3 page document and think how very precious it is to us.  It is one of the major obstacles that has been standing between us and Colin…God has graciously answered our prayer and this obstacle is removed.  Praise the Lord!

 We are mailing it to be apostilled today (overnighting it) and then it will be sent to AWAA.  Once with AWAA, our facilitator for the Russia program will review it and send it on to our region to be translated and then submitted with our other court documents (think of it kind of like a cover letter) to our region’s court.  The judge then will issue a court date for us and we will be given our travel dates.  This whole process can take about 4 weeks or more.  We are praying that our petition quickly and safely makes it to Russia and we are praying that it will be quickly translated and submitted.  We ask for prayers that all our paperwork will please the judge.

I’d better go to UPS and see our UPS buddies, Joyce and Roy!  I’m so excited to share the great news with them today!  They’ve gotten to know me pretty well since I am a frequent customer.

Heather

16 Responses to “Time to Celebrate One Mountain Moved…”

  1. Julie E October 28, 2008 at 5:34 pm #

    I am so excited for you two! Answered prayer! We will keep praying for a short wait for a court date. I wonder what Russians do on their birthdays? You may have a birthday to always remember!

  2. LL October 28, 2008 at 6:17 pm #

    Praise the Lord. You are in my prayers.

  3. Kathy B October 28, 2008 at 6:24 pm #

    Heather and Alan,

    How we rejoice with you today! The Lord has again performed a miracle as He has throughout this entire adoption. Our family has been blessed tremendously. May the Lord receive the glory as we celebrate this special news. It will be shouting time when we see precious Colin in the forever arms of his mommie and daddy. Thank you Lord Jesus! We love You our Lord!
    All our love, Mom and Dad

  4. Candy October 28, 2008 at 7:32 pm #

    Heather- I’m sooo excited for you!! Congrats.
    Candy (awaa)

  5. Jennifer October 28, 2008 at 9:21 pm #

    Congratulations! It is exciting news!

  6. Debbie Swingle October 28, 2008 at 9:59 pm #

    Yippy yo kyah!! I am sooo doing the happy dance!! Isn’t it amazing how much time was put into that letter? You know Dr D must have poured over every document you submitted to be able to write the document as he did, almost as if you wrote it yourself.
    Looking forward to seeing pics of Colin soon!! What an amazing Christmas present I am praying for all of you- are you bawling every time you hear SCC’s song, A Family For Christmas??? I still do.

    Blessings!!!
    Debbie

  7. kristi werre October 28, 2008 at 10:19 pm #

    That is great!!!! I’ll be praying that the paperwork gets processed quickly and you find favor with the judge. God is good!!!

    🙂 Kristi W. (btw – I’m in India, can’t sleep with the time change so I’m blog stalking)

  8. Michelle October 28, 2008 at 10:45 pm #

    God is great! I am SO excited for you! I will continuing praying.

  9. Janice October 28, 2008 at 11:53 pm #

    Well I’ll be. I’ve been following your blog for weeks. My husband and I are adopting from the same region and, well, it looks like we are on exactly the same timeline. We also got our petition today!!! Hopefully we’ll be in country at the same time!! Please feel free to email me.

  10. Jodi October 29, 2008 at 8:57 am #

    Congratulations! I’m glad you made it through this next step of the process. We were in Russia in November/December last year and despite the cold, it is a special time of year:o)

  11. Clint and Calli October 29, 2008 at 10:06 am #

    Congratulations!!! We are so excited for ya’ll and hope that everything moves as quickly as possible!! We placed Colin and ya’ll on the prayer request list at our church and in our Sunday school class. You are definitely in our thoughts and prayers!! Hope ya’ll are doing well and we will see you soon!!!

    Love,

    Calli and Clint

  12. Teresa October 29, 2008 at 4:22 pm #

    Yay!!!! That is so amazing!!! I kept checking your blog to see this great news and then the one day I missed it, you got the news!!! Congratulations!!!

  13. Jen October 29, 2008 at 8:32 pm #

    I am so excited to hear the news! What a praise!!! I am looking forawrd to hearing news of your travel plans….. and can’t wait to see Collin in your arms.

  14. Jen October 29, 2008 at 8:33 pm #

    Sorry I mispelled Colin’s name. My nephew is named Collin.

  15. Karyn October 29, 2008 at 8:33 pm #

    CONGRATULATIONS! I’m sure you’re very relieved to finally have your petition. Not much longer now!

  16. Stephanie October 30, 2008 at 1:16 pm #

    Congrats on getting your Petition! That is WONDERFUL!!! One more step closer –

    We received our court date today, and I can’t explain the feelings of joy I have!!!!

    Please let me know of any other family’s you may know traveling during that time. I would love to meet them.

    Stephanie

Leave a Reply

