The Waiting Room…

9 Oct

I had bloodwork done today for our medicals that are required for our adoption.  I still need to have an x-ray and will try to do that tomorrow.  It was kind of weird to be in my OB-GYN office around many pregnant women…I know that physically I still show no signs that I am on the verge of becoming a mommy but I am becoming Colin’s mommy…My labor is different than what pregnant mothers will experience.  No epidural, no Lamaze or Bradley Method classes are recommended to help us prepare for our little one. 

Though we are becoming Colin’s parents through the miracle of adoption instead of birth, we will be his “real parents.”  I’m sure someone down the line will ask us about his “real parents” and we are already prepared to simply tell them, “We are his real parents.”  This in no way discounts Colin’s birthmother’s precious gift.  We are very grateful to her for choosing life and carrying precious Colin for 9 months in her womb.  We just want to help folks to understand that we are real flesh and blood parents, just like parents whose baby has come the conventional way, and we feel blessed to soon be Colin’s mama and papa…for life.

This month we are praying fervently that we will receive our Petition to Court so we can be considered for a court date.  We appreciate any prayers you can say on our behalf this month because it is difficult waiting each day for this elusive paper over which we have no control.  You will be invited to our virtual celebration in the blogosphere when we finally receive the Petition and are being considered for court 🙂  We can’t wait to celebrate that day with you soon (God willing)!

4 Responses to “The Waiting Room…”

  1. kristi werre October 10, 2008 at 12:13 am #

    I’ll be praying for good news soon! Hang in there…the waiting is so hard but once you have your sweet Colin home it will seem so far away. 🙂 I agree with you on the “real parents” issue. I’ve told people before that I’m Daya’s “real mother”. They just look at me like I’m nuts.

  2. Julie E October 10, 2008 at 7:22 am #

    I hope we are celebrating soon!

  3. Teresa October 10, 2008 at 7:51 pm #

    Hi Heather, I have been so busy with my job the past couple of weeks and I am only now just catching up. I am so sorry you had a tough day a few days ago – whatever happened to make you feel hurt, I hope you are feeling a lot better! Even before we bring our little ones home, I feel we already are their real parents. I pray you hear news soon of your court date – Hang in there! Be well…Teresa

  4. LL October 11, 2008 at 11:11 am #

    Many prayers continued for you, husband and your son.

Leave a Reply

