October Musings

2 Oct

October…It is finally here!  I have always enjoyed this time of year.  I love the cooler weather and the way the sunlight looks on an autumn day…This fall, as I watch for the changing colors of the trees my thoughts turn to our little one so far away…The temperatures where Colin lives already average about what my home state of Tennessee experiences during winter.  October tends to bring the first snowfall of the season for Colin’s current home.  It is unbelievable to think that the next time we see Colin we will be all bundled up for wintery weather!  The last time I saw him we were wearing short sleeves and had just enjoyed an adventure outdoors with him!

Speaking of seeing him again, we still don’t know if we will get to return for him in November or December.  We are hoping and praying our petition will be given to us soon so our paperwork (most of it in Russia since July/August) can be submitted to the judge for his review in consideration of a court date. 

In good news, the little board book of photos from our first trip to Russia will be heading to Colin in about two weeks!  We hope that the caregivers will read it to Colin and that he will remember us.

This weekend marks 90 days since we met Colin…It is hard to fathom that we have been waiting this long after meeting him, yet I know that there are families who have waited much longer before being reunited with their children.  I don’t want to ever come across as insensitive to others who have waited longer to return to their children and finalize their adoption.  I know that it has been hard for me to read blogs where families talk about having to wait 1 or 2 months to go to their children…We are inching towards the possibility of waiting 4-6 months before we are with Colin again so an 1, 2 or even 3 month-wait sounds terrific to me at this point.

In the meanwhile, we continue to work very slowly on Colin’s room.  We also continue to gather little by little what we need for trip two and for taking care of Colin once he is here at home.  We also need to finish…er…I mean start painting our bedroom. 

Breaking News:  The family with our agency who traveled the month before us just received their Petition to Court!  We are rejoicing with them. Please continue to pray that we will receive our petition this month, too.

 

5 Responses to “October Musings”

  1. Michelle October 2, 2008 at 8:42 pm #

    Praying you receive your petition this month. It’s only the 2nd so it could stil come!

  2. Nicole October 4, 2008 at 12:12 pm #

    Still praying for you Heather and for little Colin. Sorry i cannot commit to a time on prayer day because we are going to be traveling to Utah. I will be praying with everyone throughout the day though 🙂

  3. Teresa October 4, 2008 at 12:15 pm #

    Hi Heather, I can only imagine how difficult the wait must be in-between trips to finally be with your little one – 90 days has been a very long wait. I pray that when my time comes, I handle it half as well as you are, but, I pray that you get to travel sooner than you expect! That is so great that the board book will be with Colin and they can read it to him!
    Well, Hang in there. Be well…Teresa

  4. Julie E October 4, 2008 at 3:33 pm #

    I am praying for you, hoping the petition comes soon and that you are on your way to reunite with Colin. Oh, I can’t wait for that day for you!

  5. Kris October 4, 2008 at 5:10 pm #

    It is 20kg/person checked in. Not including carry ons. So you can pack extra in there. I know waiting for court date is very hard and we’re praying you’ll get it soon. The time will come!

Leave a Reply

