Confessions of a Cowardly Lion…

23 Sep

Yay!  We are ready to mail some documents this week to be apostilled.  These are documents that are expiring (are almost a year old) in our initial dossier and one region document that we have updated to reflect Alan’s new salary. 

Our agency explained this week that our Petition to Court should arrive about 2 – 4 weeks before we receive word of our court appointment.  After we receive the Petition, we will have it notarized and apostilled.  Then our agency will mail it to our region’s facilitator (for our agency).   Hopefully, it will not take more than 1 or 2 weeks from the point we get it to return it to Russia.  Once our Petition makes it to our region facilitator, it will take about 1 week (or less) to be processed and translated.   At that point, our facilitator will take our translated Petition and our court/region documents to the court.  Usually our facilitator will receive word of our court appointment that day or soon after. 

Our agency tells us that they think we will travel sometime in November.  This would be wonderful if it ends up being true!  According to that predicted timeline, our Petition to Court should come sometime in October.  This news sounds great but Alan and I have to take it with a grain of salt.  In international adoption, there is always the possibility of the unexpected happening.  Currently, the family who went a month before us (with our agency) to our region is still waiting on their Petition.  We know that the family who recently received their Petition a few weeks ago is still waiting on word of their scheduled court appointment, too.  Hopefully, all will go smoothly and we’ll be able celebrate the arrival of our Petition soon.

A verse I am meditating on today as we continue to wait on our journey back to Colin is:  “Wait for the Lord; be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord.”  Psalm 27:14.

Last night, I felt like more like a “cowardly lion” than the “braveheart” I should be!  I let my fears get the best of me at bedtime.  I’m praying that God will help me to focus today on the everyday things I need to do to be a godly and helpful wife to Alan….And that I will bring God joy today by choosing to trust in His provision for us.

Thanks for stopping by,

Heather

 

2 Responses to “Confessions of a Cowardly Lion…”

  1. Teresa September 23, 2008 at 6:49 pm #

    Hi Heather, I will say a prayer that everything goes smoothly. I know that feeling of fear all too well and with the process of IA, I think we all feel that at one time or another -There is so much unknown. November is right around the corner, but I hope you get to travel even sooner! Take care…Teresa

  2. Julie E September 23, 2008 at 8:06 pm #

    Hang in there Heather. I’m always reminded of your words, keep leaning on the Lord and they help. He will get you thru this long wait. Remind me of this in a few months! I can’t wait to tell you all about our trip–I am planning to call you later this week.

Leave a Reply

