Baby Boy Blues…

18 Sep

The bedroom is not quite ready yet but I will share photos some day.  Alan has finished one picture and is moving on to number two in the series.  We still need to touch up the paint and paint Colin’s name above the crib. 

It is official…today I was driving back home from getting my hair cut and I realized that I have the “baby boy blues!”  I miss our sweet baby whom we were just getting to know in the three brief visits we had with him over 2 months ago.  I long to hold him and comfort him and witness various moods (yes, even crankiness!) and to know that when it is all said and done he is our little boy to care for and love forever. 

I have the “baby boy blues” because we still have no indication of when we will get our Petition to Court and the family who went before us from our agency still doesn’t have theirs either…I’m praying that they will receive their Petition soon.  I’m praying that we will get to return for our children before the end of the year…

And you can see by some of the blue in the photo’s background that our world is literally shades of blue because many of our clothes for Colin are blue.  In this photo, you see the snowsuit we have for Colin.  It is already dropping to the 40s-50s (maybe even colder!) in Russia so Colin will need this to keep him extra warm.

We have ordered a baby board book which we were able to design with photos from meeting Colin on our first trip and with text we wrote (in Russian with the help of a friend from Mt. Hermon Baptist Church in my hometown).  We are so excited about sending this book with a couple who are returning in October (God willing) to Russia for their little girl who lives in the same orphanage as Colin.  We are praying that they will also be able to take some photos of Colin and get updated measurements for him.  To check out the company who is producing our board book for Colin, please visit http://mycustomstory.com/shop/.  Thanks for stopping by!

Example of Custom Story Board Book

Example of Custom Story Board Book

4 Responses to “Baby Boy Blues…”

  1. Sherri September 18, 2008 at 10:11 pm #

    Praying that it will be sunny sky blues very soon!! Understanding so well what you are going through and praying for you!

  2. Teresa September 19, 2008 at 8:31 am #

    Hi Heather, Great picture!
    Thanks so much again for your well-wishes for Kevin and me.
    Those board books look adorable – What a great idea! I am praying that you guys will be reunited with Colin very soon.
    Take care…Teresa

  3. Debbie Swingle September 22, 2008 at 2:00 pm #

    I soo remember those days- but only as I am reading your post…. all this, too, shall pass and you will soon hold your little guy and learn and grow with him and the wait will become a distant memory.
    Don’t stress over the order of the petitions. Ours were out of order, so you may even get it tomorrow!!

    I remember I found myself becoming angry over the wait. I know that anger is the easiest emotion to come out when you have that jumble of emotions inside…. but yes, anger/angst. I really didn’t mind that Elisha had been away from us for the first 17 months- I didn’t really think of it- but that 4 month wait in between… wow. I pray you will guard your hearts and not let ANY bitterness take root.

    God is sooo in control and the timing will be perfect. I can’t wait to see your post soon that you will be traveling!!

    It seems hard to believe that we are coming up on our 1 year anniversary of our first trip to see Elisha- we went at the end of October- and caught the first snowfall of the season….AAhhh…. love Siberian winters….. :0)

    Hang in there!! There are many praying with and for you!

  4. Marie September 24, 2008 at 11:05 am #

    I remember those baby boy blues all to well. I can’t wait to see the room. I’m sure working on his room helps pass the time (a little). I hope you hear something about a court date soon!

Leave a Reply

