They’re Only Mole Hills…

12 Aug

Today marks the 1-month anniversary of our last visit with our sweet boy…Last night, I wrote another entry in the journal in which I’ve been writing to him since we found out we were going to be registered in June.  It was a beautiful night with a soft breeze blowing and the sun sinking behind the hills near our home.  I longed to watch Colin enjoy touching the flowers in our butterfly garden.  He was very interested in the grass we saw on the playground on our last visit to the orphanage.  He did not try to eat the grass; he kept looking at it intently and touching it like a little botanist or maybe a farmer.  Maybe he hadn’t been allowed to do this before.  There are wooden cribs on the orphanage’s playground where they are able to put several of the children at once.  Maybe that’s where he’s used to being outside, not in the grass.  They also may take the children out a few at a time for walks…We aren’t really sure how often our little boy gets to play outside. 

He was very responsive outside and some of our favorite photos are from our visit outside.  For example, he is waving to Alan in one of the photos….he is giggling with me in one of our videos. 

We have not heard any news from our agency regarding the document which must be produced before we are given a court date.  We have been told that the government (not sure if it is the Ministry of Education or not) has to release information on our son to our adoption facilitator before the facilitator can write the Petition that will accompany our court documents when they are submitted by facilitator in our region.  Our agency says that this is all out of our hands.  Court dates usually follow within 1-2 months of the receipt of the Petition so please be in prayer that the required information on our son will be released as soon as possible (this month or September) so that our Petition can be written.  Please also pray that the Petition will be written quickly so that we can be submitted for a court date as soon as possible.  We have not been told that the current conflict covered in the international news will in any way impede our adoption, but it is still a prayer concern, as well.

You may have heard the song by Lincoln Brewster, “Everlasting God.”  I first heard it last school year and it spoke so much to me as we waited for registration and our referral.  The scripture on which it is based is Isaiah 40(NIV):

28 Do you not know?
       Have you not heard?
       The LORD is the everlasting God,
       the Creator of the ends of the earth.
       He will not grow tired or weary,
       and his understanding no one can fathom.

 29 He gives strength to the weary
       and increases the power of the weak.

 30 Even youths grow tired and weary,
       and young men stumble and fall;

 31 but those who hope in the LORD
       will renew their strength.
       They will soar on wings like eagles;
       they will run and not grow weary,
       they will walk and not be faint.

I heard a little of the song this afternoon, and it is wonderful to now have “Our strength will rise as we wait upon the Lord…We will wait upon the Lord” going over and over in my head.  I’m not usually a fan of music repeating in my head because I have a grave vulnerability to ear worms BUT I so need today to meditate on these verses from Isaiah that remind me that God will be faithful to take care of us during our wait for our son. 

I read this week in my Streams in the Desert devotional the phrase, “cheerful expectations” and that is on my mind today, too.  I do not need to dwell in the mire of “what-ifs” and “why-nots” as we wait on our court date.  I need to have “cheerful expectations” of the Lord, recognizing that what seem like mountains to me are not obstacles to Him at all. 

I am reminded just now of my favorite science teacher in high school, Mr. Carter, and how he would tell us “Stop making a mountain out of a mole hill.”  God sees the paperwork and people standing between Colin and us as “mole hills….”  When I think of the mole hills that have literally plagued our back yard this summer, I think of Alan and my desperate attempts to stomp on them….They are small holes and it doesn’t take much effort to smoosh them…How much more able is God to smoosh those “mole hills” of our adoption? 

Forgive my tangent on “mountains and mole hills.”  Please don’t try to bring moles into my analogy because I have no clue where those varmints would fit into the analogy or if they would at all…I was an English major… 

I think it best to stick with the image of our obstacles as mere “mole hills” to God which we should not waste time making into “mountains.”   🙂  God is able, more than able, to bring us together with our son in 2008.

3 Responses to “They’re Only Mole Hills…”

  1. Elizabeth August 13, 2008 at 9:14 pm #

    Heather,
    I can feel the ache in your heart for Colin (what a beautiful name). Remember, it is all in God’s perfect timing. Don and I will pray that the petition will be completed toot sweet and you will receive a court date soon.
    God Bless,
    Elizabeth

  2. Teresa August 15, 2008 at 9:33 am #

    Hi Heather,
    You are in our prayers that you will soon be reunited with your son and may finally bring him home. The wait is so hard – I hope that last document can be done very soon.
    Enjoy your summer – So much to look forward to!
    Warm wishes…Teresa

  3. CanCan August 17, 2008 at 10:49 am #

    Every day is a step closer!

Leave a Reply

