Russian Travel Tip – Converter and Adapter

9 Aug

Now that I’ve labelled this post with the dullest subject line ever, here’s a helpful tip for your first trip to Russia. Russia not only uses a higher voltage for in their homes, offices and hotels, but the wall outlet is shaped differently than those in the United States. U.S. travellers will need a voltage converter and plug adapter if they plan on packing electric shavers, blow dryers, etc.

Franzus converter

Franzus converter

Thanks to some very helpful on-line friends, we were told about the Franzus Auto Adjust Smart Converter (left, available here).  It features a 2000 Watt converter, which converts 220 volt foreign to 110 volt domestic, and enough adapter plugs to take you around the world.

A great feature about this converter is that is reacts to any fluctuations in voltages automatically. And, if our recent trip is any indication, fluctuations happen frequently in Russia.
 

Russian Wall OutletHere’s what a wall outlet in Russia looks like:

Notice that unlike American outlets this one has a recessed area for the plug itself. This could cause problems.

 

 

 

 

 


The converter’s plugs are the correct size and shape to fit into a Russian outlet without the adapter. But the recessed outlet will keep the converter from plugging in to the hole fully. Although the converter will work this way, it is not anchored fully to avoid it from falling out when you plug in your device.

Here’s where your adapter comes in handy. The adapter you need to take for Russia is the one marked “Northern Europe”.


The adapter will provide enough of an extension for your converter that it will allow it to fully plug in.
When we used our converter, it would sometimes click madly while the red and green lights on it flickered. This meant that the voltage was fluctuating and the converter was doing its job. The click is annoying enough that you will want to unplug the converter when you are not using it.
I’m glad that I could provide this information.
God Bless, Alan

55 Responses to “Russian Travel Tip – Converter and Adapter”

  1. Julie E August 12, 2008 at 2:43 pm #

    Thanks for this post. We were wondering what we needed to get and this helped us figure it out. Still praying for you both and your little one.

  2. Elizabeth August 13, 2008 at 9:16 pm #

    Heather and Alan,
    We were just talking about converters today. Thanks so much for this valuable information.
    Blessings,
    Elizabeth

  3. Johnny August 15, 2008 at 11:51 am #

    Thanks for the info on Russia.
    http://www.foreignelectricityconverter.com seems to be a decent site that gives info on other countries as well.

  4. Tyson July 17, 2011 at 4:31 pm #

    Thanks a lot Alan. As I am traveling to Russia in two weeks, I wanted to double check to make sure my converter/adapter set had the right adapter for Russian outlets. I had the feeling that the right converter was the one marked “Northern Europe”. Again, thanks a lot for the confirmation.

  5. littlematryoshka August 24, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

    This is a very helpful blog for me especially since I am traveling to Russia next week.

  6. lose weight naturally May 27, 2014 at 3:34 am #

    I always emailed this web site post page to all my friends,
    for the reason that if like to read it then my friends will too.

  7. search engine optimization basics May 27, 2014 at 3:50 am #

    For most recent news you have to pay a visit the web and on internet I found this site as a finest web site for
    latest updates.

  8. Cosmitone and renovo May 27, 2014 at 3:53 am #

    Whoa! This blog looks exactly like my old one! It’s on a completely different topic but it has pretty much the same page layout
    and design. Great choice of colors!

  9. Pure Select Supplements May 27, 2014 at 4:00 am #

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to
    say that I’ve truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.
    After all I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write
    once more very soon!

  10. liver flush May 27, 2014 at 4:28 am #

    Highly energetic blog, I liked that a lot. Will there be a part
    2?

  11. website design firms Phoenix May 27, 2014 at 5:04 am #

    What’s up everyone, it’s my first pay a visit at this web site, and article is in fact fruitful in support of me, keep
    up posting such articles or reviews.

  12. exercise plan to lose weight May 27, 2014 at 5:43 am #

    Hello everyone, it’s my first visit at this website, and
    piece of writing is actually fruitful designed for me, keep up posting these articles or reviews.

  13. colon hydrotherapy weight loss May 27, 2014 at 6:22 am #

    I have been exploring for a bit for any high quality
    articles or weblog posts on this sort of area .

    Exploring in Yahoo I finally stumbled upon this web site.
    Reading this info So i am satisfied to exhibit that I have a
    very good uncanny feeling I discovered exactly what I needed.
    I such a lot surely will make sure to do not omit this site and provides it a look regularly.

  14. fat burners May 27, 2014 at 6:59 am #

    Hello, its nice post on the topic of media print, we all
    understand media is a fantastic source of facts.

  15. Garcinia Cambogia Australia Diet May 27, 2014 at 7:14 am #

    Thank you for any other wonderful article. The place else could anyone get that type of
    info in such an ideal means of writing? I’ve a presentation next week, and I’m at the search
    for such info.

  16. where can i find garcinia cambogia May 27, 2014 at 7:26 am #

    What’s up to every one, it’s actually a good for me to
    visit this site, it includes precious Information.

  17. www.datelook.eu May 27, 2014 at 8:07 am #

    Hi everyone, it’s my first go to see at
    this website, and article is truly fruitful in support of me,
    keep up posting these types of articles.

  18. Lumarepairs.com May 27, 2014 at 8:25 am #

    Hurrah, that’s what I was searching for, what a information! present
    here at this webpage, thanks admin of this web page.

  19. how to lose 10 pounds in a day May 27, 2014 at 8:56 am #

    Wow! Finally I got a blog from where I know how to genuinely take useful facts concerning my study and knowledge.

  20. Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but
    after looking at many of the posts I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyways, I’m certainly happy I discovered it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back frequently!

  21. Revitol May 27, 2014 at 11:36 am #

    It’s perfect time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy.
    I’ve learn this put up and if I may I wish to counsel you some fascinating
    issues or tips. Perhaps you can write next articles referring to this article.
    I want to learn more things approximately it!

  22. Best Aging Cream May 27, 2014 at 1:01 pm #

    Hi there it’s me, I am also visiting this web page on a
    regular basis, this website is genuinely good and the people are truly sharing pleasant thoughts.

  23. cindy crawford skin care reviews May 27, 2014 at 6:35 pm #

    Remarkable issues here. I’m very glad to look your post.
    Thank you so much and I’m having a look forward to touch you.

    Will you kindly drop me a mail?

  24. anti wrinkle serum May 27, 2014 at 9:40 pm #

    Hey There. I found your blog the usage of msn. This is
    a very neatly written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your
    useful info. Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly comeback.

  25. www.victoriafreze.com May 28, 2014 at 5:59 am #

    Excellent post. Keep posting such kind of info
    on your site. Im really impressed by your blog.

    Hey there, You’ve performed an incredible job. I will definitely digg it and for my
    part suggest to my friends. I’m confident they’ll be benefited from this site.

  26. best cleanse May 28, 2014 at 6:42 am #

    I needed to thank you for this excellent read!!

    I certainly loved every little bit of it. I have got you saved
    as a favorite to check out new things you post…

  27. Slim Tropical Review May 28, 2014 at 9:06 am #

    Thankfulness to my father who told me about this website, this
    web site is really awesome.

  28. I’d like to find out more? I’d like to find out more details.

  29. redunovin May 29, 2014 at 7:52 pm #

    Hey! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could get
    a captcha plugin for my comment form? I’m using
    the same blog platform as yours and I’m having difficulty
    finding one? Thanks a lot!

  30. blogmetrics.org May 30, 2014 at 11:07 pm #

    Thanks in support of sharing such a nice idea, piece of
    writing is pleasant, thats why i have read it completely

  31. colón cleanse June 1, 2014 at 5:39 am #

    constantly i used to read smaller articles that as well clear their motive, and that is also happening with this article which
    I am reading here.

  32. online music marketing with topspin June 1, 2014 at 1:28 pm #

    After looking at a number of the articles
    on your web page, I truly appreciate your technique of
    blogging. I book-marked it to my bookmark webpage list
    and will be checking back soon. Take a look at my website too and tell me what
    you think.

  33. pure garcinia cambogia With hca June 8, 2014 at 7:02 pm #

    Incredible! This blog looks just like my old one!
    It’s on a entirely different topic but it has pretty much the same page layout and design. Wonderful choice
    of colors!

  34. diet plan for weight loss June 10, 2014 at 4:33 pm #

    Definitely consider that that you said. Your favourite reason appeared to be on the net the easiest factor to remember of.
    I say to you, I certainly get annoyed at
    the same time as other people think about worries that they plainly do not understand about.
    You controlled to hit the nail upon the highest as smartly as
    outlined out the entire thing without having side-effects , folks can take a signal.
    Will likely be again to get more. Thank you

  35. http://goodebike.com/ June 26, 2014 at 5:16 pm #

    The unit is sturdy enough to accommodate two riders at once.

    In 2004, only 40,000 electric two wheelers were sold
    in China and by 2010, the count has surpassed the 100 million mark.

    A larger motor will be needed on rocky or muddy roads and when you are riding against a strong headwind.

    Because we don’t know how to do whatever it is we are trying to
    do.

  36. http://go-qual.co.kr June 30, 2014 at 11:16 pm #

    Fantastic post however I was wanting to know if you could write a litte more on this topic?

    I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit further.
    Cheers!

  37. Amateur Masturbation July 1, 2014 at 2:51 pm #

    Thank you a lot for sharing this with all of us you actually
    know what you are talking approximately! Bookmarked.
    Kindly also seek advice from my website =).
    We will have a link trade agreement among us

  38. miami roof repair July 2, 2014 at 5:26 am #

    Thanks to my father who told me on the topic of this weblog,
    this blog is genuinely remarkable.

  39. seo Tips July 3, 2014 at 3:10 pm #

    What a material of un-ambiguity and preserveness of precious
    familiarity regarding unpredicted emotions.

  40. banner July 8, 2014 at 5:53 am #

    It’s amazing in support of me to have a web page, which is valuable in favor of my knowledge.

    thanks admin

  41. flash banner examples July 10, 2014 at 2:12 am #

    It’s truly a great and useful piece of information.
    I’m glad that you simply shared this helpful information with us.
    Please keep us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

  42. how to get laid July 28, 2014 at 3:33 am #

    Awesome issues here. I’m very glad to see your article.
    Thank you a lot and I’m having a look ahead to touch you.

    Will you kindly drop me a e-mail?

  43. kelly osbourne weight loss August 1, 2014 at 6:15 pm #

    Helpful information. Fortunate me I found your website by accident,
    and I’m stunned why this accident didn’t came about
    in advance! I bookmarked it.

  44. http://smmkk.net/ August 3, 2014 at 1:24 am #

    My partner and I stumbled over here by a different website and
    thought I might as well check things out. I like what I see so now i am following you.

    Look forward to going over your web page repeatedly.

  45. I feel that is among the so much significant information for me.
    And i am glad reading your article. But want to observation on few general issues,
    The site style is wonderful, the articles is in reality excellent : D.
    Good task, cheers

  46. Fantastic post however , I was wanting to know if you could write a litte more on this subject?
    I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit more.
    Bless you!

  47. Zita September 26, 2014 at 12:19 am #

    Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve visited this website before but after browsing through some
    of the posts I realized it’s new to me. Nonetheless, I’m certainly pleased I
    stumbled upon it and I’ll be bookmarking it
    and checking back frequently!

  48. Titanium Pro X September 26, 2014 at 11:39 pm #

    When someone writes an post he/she keeps the idea of a user in his/her
    brain that how a user can understand it. Therefore that’s why this piece of writing is perfect.
    Thanks!

  49. strapless Wedding dresses September 28, 2014 at 5:38 am #

    Truly when someone doesn’t be aware of then its up to other people
    that they will assist, so here it takes place.

  50. Pure Muscle Pro Review September 29, 2014 at 11:24 am #

    Wonderful blog! I found it while searching on Yahoo News.

    Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there!
    Cheers

  51. Cleanse Xtrem Reviews October 1, 2014 at 10:51 pm #

    Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.
    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for
    quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like
    this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy
    reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

  52. fitness goals October 5, 2014 at 5:19 am #

    This is very interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.

    I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your wonderful
    post. Also, I have shared your web site in my social
    networks!

  53. Cheap Flight Simulator October 8, 2014 at 3:50 am #

    I do not know whether it’s just me or if perhaps everyone else encountering problems with your website.
    It seems like some of the text inn your content are running
    off the screen. Can someon else please comment and let me know if this is
    happening to the too? This mmay be a problem with my internet browser because I’ve had this happen before.
    Thanks

  54. Blake Villas November 11, 2016 at 9:59 am #

    you could have an awesome weblog right here! would you prefer to make some invite posts on my weblog?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weight Reduction Is Achievable Using These Recommendations | Spactronic - June 21, 2014

    […] great way to help you slim down is to invest in a buy colon cleanse relevant video online game program that endorses exercise for example the Nintendo Nintendo wii […]

Leave a Reply

