The Name Game…

30 Jul

I think we are finally to agreement over the first name of our little boy.  I admit it…I was pulling all along for this name but Alan’s suggestion of “Wolfgang” was just not a good option. (Okay…he did have other good suggestions, and we did discuss many ideas and narrow our list down to a few).  We will keep his Russian first name, probably as a middle name, and we will not mention it here until the adoption is finalized and we are back in the U.S.A.  We will use the diminutive form of his Russian first name as a family nickname; we also are not going to mention it here for now.  We do not want to do anything here that could hinder our adoption or prolong our wait for a court date.

His American/English name will be Colin…This is the traditional Scottish/Irish spelling of the name.  It is NOT said like Colin Powell’s name; it is said “Kah-lin.”  It means, “youth.”  I have also seen it written as meaning “cub.”  In Greek, it is considered the short form of “Nicolas,” which means “people of victory/victorious people.”  Another possible meaning (from the Latin origin of the name) for Colin is “dove.”

 As I think I mentioned in a recent email, LifeSong for Orphans has graciously offered to accept donations on our behalf which will go towards our adoption expenses(Deadline is September 16, 2008).  When you mail a donation to them and write on the check memo section, “Preference Colin Brandt Adoption,” Lifesong will send you a tax-deductible receipt and will keep track of the donation.  Only funds donated with this preference on the checks will  be given as an Adoption Grant when we get closer to our travel dates. (In following IRS guidelines, your donation is to LifeSong, which retains full discretion and control over its use.  Contact us if you’d like to receive a letter explaining how this works or visit the LifeSong website on the right of this page).Checks can be mailed to:

LifeSong for Orphans
Colin Brandt Adoption
PO Box 40
Gridley, IL 61744 

When we think of our little one, we still think of him as his Russian baby name because it is the name he knows best and we called him it so many times on the trip. We are not in a rush to teach him another name on trip two. We will call him by Colin and his baby name (saying them together) eventually to help him learn that they are both names by which he is known.

Last night at bedtime, I needed to see a video of us on the trip and to remember that this wasn’t all a dream–that God really lead us to Russia and to spending time with this precious little boy. It made me happy to laugh over him refusing to share his Cheerios with Alan…and it amazed me to see him snuggled in my arms, his little arms curled around my shoulder and know that for three blessed days we were with him, our much dreamed of, much prayed for, son….May God continue to remove obstacles between us and our little one…May we be invited to return to Russia soon to officially become Colin’s mama and papa….

God bless each of you readers and may you lean hard on God this week, trusting He will be your strength and your source of peace in whatever kind of challenges you face in your lives.  May He delight you with His immeasurable, incomprehensible joy…

Heather

5 Responses to “The Name Game…”

  1. Julie W July 30, 2008 at 8:53 pm #

    Heather, I love the name Colin!!! We look forward to seeing your little one’s picture after your court date!!! God Bless, Julie Word

  2. Julie E July 31, 2008 at 1:55 pm #

    Can’t wait to see a picture of Colin!! Thanks for the encouragement at the end of your post. I’m leaning hard this week.

  3. Nicole August 1, 2008 at 3:15 pm #

    Colin is a great name!! Your words are beautiful and really touched me. We are praying you are reunited with your little one soon.

  4. Jessica August 1, 2008 at 8:49 pm #

    First of all, CONGRATULATIONS on your referral!!! I am so excited and happy to hear this. I didn’t see it sooner because I have been gone for practically a month and have not been on the internet. This is truly a blessing and I am so excited to hear about everything!! I love the name you have picked out. John and I would love to have you and your husband over sometime. Just give me a call. Also, I read your comment on my blog about needlepointing. I found a wonderful little shop called Beth’s Needlepoint Nook off of Shelbyville road. Beth is wonderful and was so helpful considering I am a newby. Anyway, I would love to chat sometime.

    Jessica

  5. Jennifer August 2, 2008 at 11:00 pm #

    I like the name you picked! Can’t wait to hear what his Russian name is.

Leave a Reply

