Just a Little Bit Dangerous…

17 Jun

A pre-adoptive parent in our agency’s Ethiopia program put up a link to the audio of NewSpring Church’s recent sermon by Pastor Perry Noble. (You can check out Jen’s blog at http://www.beBOLDjen.blogspot.com.) I decided to listen to the sermon while I worked on my computer. The sermon’s title intrigued me: “One Prayer-Make Us Dangerous.” Pastor Perry Noble says, “If we will listen to His(God’s) voice, He doesn’t command us to do anything safe; He commands us to do the impossible….His plans for your life are bigger than you could have ever imagined…” The pastor refers to Isaiah 55:8-9:

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts,
neither are your ways my ways,”
declares the LORD.

As the heavens are higher than the earth,
so are my ways higher than your ways
and my thoughts than your thoughts.”

Noble also says, “We need to give up our pivotal pathetic way of thinking and say, ‘God I’m tired of living my life. If your thoughts are that high for me, I want what you want and I’m willing to listen to you. Speak to me, Lord.”

He says that God is trying to say to us, “I need your eyes on Me believing in Me… that My thoughts are higher than your thoughts…and My ways are higher than your ways and if you will quit focusing on your problem and start focusing on Me, I will do more for you in 10 minutes than you could ever do for yourself in a lifetime. I bring things that are dead back to life and if I did it 2000 years ago, I can do it for you.” “The church that truly believes in Jesus, I believe we should always be walking around going, “What else can He do?”

As a Southern girl I am familiar with the expression, “Hold onto your fork” which the pastor used as a springboard: “If God had a message for you, it would be, “Hold onto your fork. The reason you are still here on this planet is because I am not finished with you yet. And if you will walk with me and if you will listen to me and if you will believe in me, you hold onto your fork because your best days are yet to come. You haven’t even seen what I can do yet.”

“I believe the day that we as a church stop putting Him (God) in a box and say, “God, I will go where you want me to go, and I will listen to anything you say, and I will believe it if you’ve called me to it ,” I believe that’s when we become dangerous.”

Oh, my goodness! This sermon spoke to me today. I’ve just included a few excerpts from the sermon. If you want to check out the whole sermon go to the following link.

http://www.newspring.cc/226312.ihtml?ResourceID=1270

It was a wonderful invitation to me to embrace the impossible…not to fear it…to trust that God is able, more than able, to work through our adoption…through my teaching…through every aspect of my life….if I will walk with the Lord and wholeheartedly follow His calling in my life….

No adoption news today…Just wanted to share what inspired me while I was enjoying my coffee and cookie this afternoon 🙂

Heather

One Response to “Just a Little Bit Dangerous…”

  1. Candy June 19, 2008 at 2:03 pm #

    Hi- Ilistened to the sermon this morning! It was great. thanks for posting this.
    candy

Leave a Reply

