Taking Root…

16 Jun

Last week, I was crazy-busy with paperwork. This week I have less paperwork to do so I’m taking time to smell the cookies 🙂 I just baked some chocolate drop cookies with mocha frosting…yum! We are hoping to have another yard sale this weekend before it gets too hot in our neck of the woods. Please pray that God will bless the yard sale and that we will be able to raise money to go towards the cost of our orphanage fee (which we will have to pay on our first trip). We also pray that we will be able to increase awareness of the needs of orphans world-wide by just sharing a little of why we feel God has led us to Russia…

I had a job interview this past week but am not sure that this will be “the one.” We are still praying that God will provide the job for me that will best for our family (especially our little one).

As we continue to wait on God’s provision for our adoption and for Him to reveal the child He has planned for us, I am reminded that “My hope comes from Him”(Psalm 62:5) The Message puts this verse(and a little of the one that follows it) this way: “God, the one and only—
I’ll wait as long as he says.
Everything I hope for comes from him,
so why not?
He’s solid rock under my feet,
breathing room for my soul…” (Heather talking: Don’t you just love the idea of God as “breathing room” for our souls?”

Whenever I start playing the “comparison game” or start looking at my circumstances through the world’s eyes, oh, boy, am I in for “gloom despair and agony on me!” (Please forgive me, readers, but the Hee Haw song conveys nicely what I’m trying to say…I think I paid more attention than I thought when I was little and watching Hee Haw on t.v.!)

My Streams in the Desert devotional today hit it on the nail when it said the following should be the perspective of the Christian praying, waiting and trusting in God’s answer to our prayers:

“The answer to our prayer may be coming, although we may not discern its approach. A seed that is underground during winter, although hidden and seemingly dead and lost, is nevertheless taking root for a later spring and harvest.

Delayed answers to prayer are not only trials of faith; they also give us opportunities to honor God through our steadfast confidence in Him even when facing the apparent denial of our request.”

Hmmm…some of my prayers may look like they have not been heard and like they will not be answered…but I love to think of them as seeds underneath the earth “taking root for a later spring and harvest.” I think back to my desire to get married…According to the world, I needed to be assertive and pursue guys…date a lot and I’d find the right one…By the world’s standards, I only dated one guy seriously and I started dating him when I was 26…My prayer for a husband had been taking root since I was a teenager. I was able to honor God by living a Christ-like life while I was waiting on His timing and His provision…My prayer to become a mother…well, God has not answered it the way I prayed when we tried to conceive a biological child…but I was called to “honor Him through [my] steadfast confidence” even then.

So, the current prayers of my heart that I keep trusting God to answer are no different in that they are also opportunities to glorify God and trust in His provision…when the time is right, those prayers that have been taking root are going to yield a harvest of answers…God wants me to seek to glorify Him NOW while I’m waiting and trusting Him to answer…as well as in the “later spring and harvest.”

Thanks for stopping by for a “virtual cookie and coffee…” (I was drinking some coffee while writing and thinking of how nice it would be to sit with some of you and talk…and have cookies and coffee. I’m sure I’d learn so much from you all)…

Heather

One Response to “Taking Root…”

  1. Jen June 17, 2008 at 7:27 pm #

    HI Heather. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I am glad I came over to see what you wrote here. I love the seed analogy. It’s a good one. Also, the breatihng room hit home with me. Thanks for sharing.

    We seriously investigated the Russia program with AWAA but in the end the time in country would be too much to be away from our kids and the expense of bringing them with too great(we homeschool so we considered it.)

    Now that we are in The Wait I can’t fathom actually getting to meet your child and then having to leave them behind! I’m sure it will be a challenge for you but I know God will fully equip you for the journey. There are no sun shine-y words to smooth over the difficulty of The Wait but God’s grace is sufficient for us and we’ll make it through because of Him.

    Here’s to having some company, someone who knows what it’s like to be in the holding tank 😉

Leave a Reply

