“Showers of Blessing…Showers of Blessing We Need….”

25 May

There are days when I am drawn to writing here…hoping that through the process I will be spoken to, as well as some of you…I don’t know if that makes sense to you, Friends….but I so often need to hear of God’s faithfulness and be reminded that He is here with me regardless of circumstances or our fickle human feelings that can change like the weather…

This weekend the song that has been on my heart is one from my childhood. I was blessed to be raised in a church that clung to the old hymns. The hymns still come to me and minister to me…they convict me like none others as well. I now attend a church where the music mostly consists of worship hymns (with old hymns sprinkled here and there). I sometimes find myself brought to tears when we do sing an old hymn because it comes to me like an old friend and speaks of God’s truth and faithfulness through the generations who’ve sang it…

The song on my heart? “There Shall Be Showers of Blessing.” I think since it is so old I can print the words here:

“There shall be showers of blessing”/ This is the promise of love;

There shall be seasons refreshing, /Sent from the Savior above.

There shall be showers of blessing/ Precious, reviving again,

Over the hills and the valleys/ Sound of abundance of rain.

There shall be showers of blessing/ Send them upon us, O Lord!

Grant to us now a refreshing,/Come and now honor Thy Word!

There shall be showers of blessing/ O that today they might fall,

Now as to God we’re confessing,/ Now as on Jesus we call!

Chorus: Showers of blessing, /Showers of blessing we need;

Mercy drops round us are falling,/But for the showers we plead.”

This old hymn is based on the Scripture, Ezekial 34:26 (King James Version)

And I will make them and the places round about my hill a blessing; and I will cause the shower to come down in his season; there shall be showers of blessing.”

I had to check out the Message paraphrase: 34:26-27 “I’ll make them and everything around my hill a blessing. I’ll send down plenty of rain in season—showers of blessing! The trees in the orchards will bear fruit, the ground will produce, they’ll feel content and safe on their land, and they’ll realize that I am God when I break them out of their slavery and rescue them from their slave masters. ”

So right now why am I pleading for showers of blessing? I confess that I spend more time than I should acting like I am a slave to worry…and not a daughter of the King….I long for showers of blessing when it comes to my list of prayer requests, yes. I still lack a new job…we still lack what we need financially for the adoption…But my longing for showers of blessing is tied more to my need for Father God to refresh my spirit and strengthen my faith in His good and loving plan for my life…

I have heard of so many families suffering crises during the past week that I also want to cry out for good to prevail and for blessings to come out of the sorrows…of the senseless death of a mother in my hometown…the death of little Maria Chapman, daughter of Christian singer/songwriter Steven Curtis Chapman and wife, Mary Beth… http://chapmanchannel.typepad.com/jim/2008/05/marias-memorial.html )

…the earthquake’s death and destruction in China…the cyclone’s death and destruction in Burma…the drought of Ethiopia…When I think of these sorrows, my little worries seem exactly that…little...

My Streams in the Desert Devotional for today says,

“Remember, Jesus said, “Blessed are those who mourn” (Matt. 5:4). Stars shine the brightest during the long dark night of winter. And the gentian wildflowers display their fairest blooms among the nearly inaccessible heights of mountain snow and ice.

God seems to use the pressure of pain to trample out the fulfillment of His promises and thereby release the sweetest juice of His winepress. Only those who have known sorrow can fully appreciate the great tenderness of the ‘man of sorrows’ (Isa. 53:3).

You may be experiencing little sunshine, bu the long periods of gloomy darkness have been wisely designed for you, for perhaps a lengthy stretch of summer weather would have made you like parched land or a barren wilderness. Your Lord knows best, and the clouds and the sun wait for His command.

When told,” It’s a gray day,” and old Scottish cobbler once replied, “Yes, but didn’t ya see the patch of blue?”

Me again: My prayer for each of us suffering sorrows–be they little or large–this week is that we will see the patch of blue God has for us…that we will trust in His plans and know the lasting joy that comes from a relationship with God through Christ Jesus–“joy unspeakable and full of glory!”

Thanks for stopping by…

2 Responses to ““Showers of Blessing…Showers of Blessing We Need….””

  1. Joy Coats May 26, 2008 at 4:29 am #

    Just know that at these times of need, it is then our Father carries us in His arms.
    It is also a blessing to understand it is the experiences in the valley that draw us closer to our Lord, and teaches us Who is truly our comfort and the One in control.

  2. Lisa May 27, 2008 at 3:07 am #

    I love the old hymns too. There are so many times in church that we sing these and tears stream down my face. I remember when my Nannie was in the hospital and was unconsious my cousin and i would sit near the bed and sing the old hymns to her. This past week so many have been coming to mind for me too.

Leave a Reply

