Притчи 31 (Proverbs 31) Woman

11 May

I couldn’t resist posting Proverbs 31 in Russian when I found a Russian translation of this chapter of the Bible on line. Of course, I can’t really read this particular version of the Bible because my Russian language skills revolve around survival phrases at this time.

I’m posting verses 30-31 of Proverbs 31 not because I feel like I have made it and can be described this way, but because it is truly my heart’s desire for God to transform me into a Proverbs 31 woman:

“Charm can mislead and beauty soon fades.
The woman to be admired and praised
is the woman who lives in the Fear-of-God.
Give her everything she deserves!
Festoon her life with praises!”

I long to be the kind of woman whose “husband trusts her without reserve,
and never has reason to regret it.” A woman who is known by her husband as “never spiteful, she treats him generously all her life long.” (verses 11-12, all from The Message paraphrase)

Today, I ponder the little one who is so many miles away and is not spending the day with a mother–me or his birth mother…I am grateful for his birth mother for carrying him in her womb for several months…I am amazed to think of how love for this precious little one is growing in my heart even though I haven’t even seen a photo of him yet.

I didn’t go to church today…I didn’t get a flower or a special gift in recognition of my motherhood because by the world’s labels, I don’t fit that category…

Yet in God’s eyes, just as He has adopted me as His little one, His beloved, His daughter, God is marvelously orchestrating my motherhood in hidden ways…He is making me into a mother even now in my waiting time– at time which is not calculated with the precision of a doctor but is numbered by God’s design all the same…

Strangers don’t smile at me and pleasantly ask when my due date is because they have no idea that God is building a family across thousands of miles and through many small details and pieces of paper which will bring us together as a Mama, Papa and baby.

Father God, thank you that you are working in ways I cannot imagine with my finite wisdom…I thank You in advance for the little one whom you are caring for during this waiting time…I thank you that you are preparing us to be his loving parents and that You will give us wisdom, strength, and creativity to bring him up to know You and Your amazing love that sees beyond the world’s boundaries and labels… and will knit our hearts together as a family.

I love you Abba Father,

Heather

One Response to “Притчи 31 (Proverbs 31) Woman”

  1. LL May 12, 2008 at 5:52 pm #

    I love this post! Thanks so much for sharing this. You are in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

