Taking it on Trust….

20 Apr

This week, we found out from one grant organization that we did not receive the grant.  They will allow us to reapply during their next quarter, and we will be able to submit our updated financial information.

 Tomorrow, Alan is hopefully going to be able to talk with another grant organization which called last week.  We were not able to speak with them last week.  We are hoping and praying that they will offer assistance of some kind.  Please pray that God will provide for us, in part, through this organization and to His glory. 

 No news on the job front for Heather.  This is still a prayer concern.

 We are still planning on having a yardsale fundraiser during Derby weekend.  Alan and I have had families donate from our workplaces.  We really appreciate the generosity and kindness of these families!

 In this time of waiting, there are some things I can do to help us be prepared for the adoption…I can read parenting books, I can clean and organize, write grants, plan fundraisers, make lists…But sometimes I find myself wishing there was a formula for speeding up the process of bringing our baby home.  This kind of  impatience was described in one of my recent devotionals as crying out, “Get up and do something! To ‘stand firm’ and wait is sheer idleness.”  The devotional continues, ” Why is it I think I must be doing something  right now instead of looking  to the Lord?  He will not only do something–He will do everything.” 

I can relate to this because I do find myself unable to even lie down for a nap (I just failed at this miserably).  All I could think of was the school work I need to do and the job application and grants waiting to be completed…I want to scream at my brain, “Enough all ready!  I just need rest from this busyness and this sense of needing to do something all the time!”  I long to lean heavily on my God (my Abba, my Daddy God) and just know He is going to take care of all these little things…

 I love these verses: 

 “Be quiet!  Why this anxious heed/About your tangled ways?/God knows them all. He give you speed/And He allows delays./It’s good for you to walk by faith/And not by sight./Take it on trust a little while./Soon you will read the mystery aright/In the full sunshine of His smile.”

 I’m praying that all who stop by to read this blog today will have some rest…something so precious in this day and age…I’m also praying that my mind will have more rest as I “take in trust”  during this waiting time…

2 Responses to “Taking it on Trust….”

  1. LL (skyangel) April 22, 2008 at 3:01 pm #

    Hey! I am skyangel from AT! Sorry to hear that the one grant was not approved. I will say prayers that another grant will happen and your financial load will be lessened. Many many prayers with the job situation. You and I both know that God will provide. He may have an awesome opportunity arise from this situaiton. Stay strong and keep the faith.

    May God give you strength, rest and peace. Your sister in Christ.

  2. mznia April 23, 2008 at 1:45 am #

    Nia from AT! I want you to know that you are in my prayers. Those devotional scriptures you have there are awesome and do believe that God will do EVERYTHING!!!

Leave a Reply

