The Sweetest Discoveries…

6 Apr

I think that this Streams in the Desert meditation expresses where I feel like I am in life:

“Most Christians lead a treadmill life–a life in which they can predict almost everything that will come their way. But the souls that God leads into unpredictable and special situations are isolated by Him. All they know is that God is holding them and that He is dealing in their lives. Then their expectations come from Him alone.

…We must be detached from outward things and attached inwardly to the Lord alone in order to see His wonders.

It is through the most difficult trials that God often brings the sweetest discoveries of Himself.”

I’m definitely NOT identifying with the treadmill sort of life; I feel like I have been led into the unpredictable and special kind of situations of which these writers are speaking. I am called to put my hope in God because He alone is trustworthy.

Today, I reflected on the predicted time frame for our adoption…longing for some predictability…3-6 months yet before we receive a referral and take our first trip…5-10 months before we go on our 2nd trip and can actually bring our little one home…This is not easy recognizing that women who may get pregnant next month may see their little ones before we get to bring ours home…And so many factors could actually make our wait longer…

As the old hymn says, “Where could I go, but to the Lord?” In times when I ponder how long it will be before we hold our little one, I am compelled to go to the Lord. I want the family He has planned for us…I want to trust in His perfect ways and timing. I can’t compare myself to others because when I do I lose out on the blessing of waiting and trusting in Him.

Is there something unpredictable into which the the Lord has led you? Some special situation or trial that He has for you? Join with me in praying that we will recognize and receive the “sweetest discoveries of Himself” which He has planned for us in the midst of and as a result of our situations. Let’s thank God that He is a God of infinite wisdom who will bring good out of our hard times…

Please pray that we will have courage as we wait and that we might be registered in the region where God has our little one soon (if it’s His will) so that we may begin the next part of our journey to bring home our child to love…

One Response to “The Sweetest Discoveries…”

  1. Carey West April 8, 2008 at 1:12 am #

    Hey Heather-
    Thank you SO much for checking in on me. I check your blog and many, many others daily that I have made friendships with through AWAA-Russia. Thank you most importantly for praying for us. I’ve started looking in to options and as soon as our other house sells, I think we’ll start looking seriously…I hope. I have room in our new home for children, not just one. I’m back where I was raised and where Robert lived many years before we were married. It’s so good to be home and I’m even more ready to raise a family. I pray often for my AWAA friends and can’t wait to hear more as your adventure unfolds!

Leave a Reply

